The Diaries of Richard Fitzgilbert

and Jeffrey Sussman

Sign My Guestbook!

Previous Entry

Next Entry

List of Entries

Contact Me

My Profile

2003-07-07 - 7:17 p.m.

Of all the things I've lost, I think I miss my recovery speed the most. I never had much of a mind. Here I am, more than 30 hours after yesterday's swimming and I still haven't really recovered. I'm not just talking about aches and pains, but cardio recovery. I'm still getting my butt kicked just climbing two stories worth of stairs.



EARTH is your chinese symbol!

What Chinese Symbol Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Way back when, I remember talking to Badouin about fighting styles as elemental forces. Badouin is fire, of course. We decided Gyrth was water, he's sneakier than you think and his good attack is a tsunami. I've always thought of myself as a bastard cross of water and earth. I guess that makes my elemental substance mud.

When I'm really fighting well, it's really earth though. My opponent could sooner use their sword to dig through a mountain as be able to touch me with more than their frustration. Suddenly, the ground opens up, swallowing my opponent's legs and my opponent's fighting from their knees. As a kindness, a landslide falls on their head ending their pain.

Yeah, it's a lot of bravado, but when it's working right, that's how it feels from inside my armor. It was best at the first crown I won. I really felt like I didn't have to bother blocking blows and I didn't bother with the ground opening up thing, I just dropped mountains on my opponents. Gently, of course. :)

Winning a Crown almost always requires dealing with one or more opponents who need a little extra help realizing that they're dead. When I'm dropping mountains, I actually enjoy those fights. How twisted is that? I start with a couple of modest Appalachian or Ural mountains, switch to something from the Rockies or Andes if necessary. No one crawls out from under a Himalayan mountain. For each Crown, I only had to drop an Everest or a K2 once or twice.

It really feels that simple, just pick up a mountain, and drop it on the opponent. I hope this doesn't sound too arrogant. I'm arrogant plenty, but this time I'm trying to describe that quiet feeling toward my opponent where I just feel that letting them sit down as soon as possible is a kindness. Am I rambling? Yes. Am I making any sense? You tell me.



hosted by DiaryLand.com