The Diaries of Richard Fitzgilbert

and Jeffrey Sussman

Sign My Guestbook!

Previous Entry

Next Entry

List of Entries

Contact Me

My Profile

2005-04-06 - 4:18 p.m.

Be Careful What You Wish For,

For a couple of years I've been working in a uncomfortable situation where my boss is a really nice guy but isn't the world's best manager or supervisor. I've been doing everything possible to get transferred to a different project. I jumped at a chance at a work assignment that is the worst kind of problem, the systems questions are complicated and the people problems are horrible. I've even been thinking about updating my resume, which would need a lot of updating since I've been with SSS (my company) for just shy of 25 years now.

So, mana from heaven, my boss decides to move to Arizona. Awesome! He can still work with us via the wonders of telecommuting but can't be the manager anymore! Be careful what you wish for. The new project manager is at the other end of the spectrum, she's been known to nibble her subordinates to death. I don't like being nibbled. The good news is that I had a long talk with her and I think that she's going to give me a long leash for the forseeable future while she deals with all of the project's other problems. I've always said that I don't mind a lot of contact with my bosses. Now, I'll get to prove it. Everyone on the project is holding their collective breath. Just as a final act of poor timing, the outgoing project manager is spending a week in Paris so the transition is all on hold. Be careful what you wish for.



hosted by DiaryLand.com