The Diaries of Richard Fitzgilbert

and Jeffrey Sussman

Sign My Guestbook!

Previous Entry

Next Entry

List of Entries

Contact Me

My Profile

2003-07-03 - 7:20 p.m.

Anne's Questions

1) What is the biggest philosophical change between the SCA now and the SCA when you reigned as King of Atlantia?

Mostly King quality. I mean, after me, that's the end of the Golden Age of Atlantia, right?

The biggest philosophical change is size. I know that doesn't make a lot of sense. But, everything has been affected by the larger number of people. The small town feel we used to have isn't really there any more. One of the things I loved to do when I was king was to go around a feast hall and meet every one there. It was a lot of fun. I loved the looks I got when I sat down and said something like "Hi, I'm Richard, who can introduce everyone else?" Of course, if there was a knight or squire sitting at the table, I almost certainly knew them and I'd put them on the spot since courtesy demanded that they make sure that everyone at their table at least be introduced. Stuff like this is very difficult now.

But to give you a better answer, not very much has really changed in a philosophical way in the SCA. We're still the big tent people we've always been. It's just that the tent's getting crowded.

2) What did you look for as a good Pelican candidate as King and did that change when you became a Pelican?

I've always had a strong bias towards autocrats and others who help run events. What's more important to the SCA than running events? Part of it is awe of people who can do something important that I'm not willing to try. (I'm going to get in trouble here.) I tend to discount book heraldry. I think of book heraldry as an endless paper chase that sucks up the energies of wonderful people who would better serve the SCA doing almost anything else. If book heraldry disappeared tomorrow, it would be a bad thing, but it's nothing like giving up events.

The other thing I'd say is the depth vs. breadth evaluation. If you do a little bit of service that affects a whole lot of people that's good. If you do a great deal of service for a small group of people that's good too. For a Pelican though, you almost have to be doing a good deal of work that affects a good deal of people.

This means I tend to give less weight than most Pelicans for things like serving as a local exchequer for a dozen years and serving in a royal household. I find the rationalizations about indirect service (the local exchequer is serving an Atlantian group which is important to all of Atlantia and the royal step and fetch it is serving the Crowns who serve the kingdom) I find less than compelling.

None of this has changed since I became a Pelican

3) What do you believe is the biggest misconception folks have about you? the Oldcastle clan? Atlantia?

Me: I'm a really nice and harmless guy.

Clan: Gyrth orders more than just the pizza.

Atlantia: We're all a bunch of whiny, hard hitting, harder taking thugs.

4) What would be your advice to a new Peer in that formative first year (not necessarily your vigil speak).

Hey, I don't give everyone the same speech! Well, not exactly the same speech! At least I change the names?

Don't take any formal students for at least a year

Have fun

Don't get carried away

Have fun

Figure out your own path, your own way of serving Atlantia.

Oh, and did I mention: Have Fun!

5) What is the best way for a nonPeer to approach a Peer about a difficult subject when they do not know them?

Hmmm, don't do it. "Meddle not in the affairs of peers for they may be soggy and hard to light." But seriously folks....

The best advice is to wait for a really clear opening. Save for that, I would tell them to count on the peers they know. Unknown peers can be prickly about the weirdest things. Or, just ask me. I'm nice to everyone and I know everything.

I really liked these questions!



hosted by DiaryLand.com