The Diaries of Richard Fitzgilbert

and Jeffrey Sussman

Sign My Guestbook!

Previous Entry

Next Entry

List of Entries

Contact Me

My Profile

2003-08-14 - 10:35 p.m.

So much to write about! I got back from Pennsic about noon today. I was so exhausted. I could have done so much better at Pennsic if I had only had to contend with the expected medical woes. Unfortunately, this newest problem of pinched nerves in both hips is a Pennsic killer. It makes walking any distance difficult (DOH!), and makes sleeping difficult. How's that for a guaranteed pair of awful Pennsic problems.

Since I was on the Pennsic light schedule (see Dafydd's descriptions ) I was able to be there for the Oldcastle Silver Anniversary Tournament on Monday and the Silver Anniversary party on Tuesday.

I had the honor of being the marshal in charge for the tournament. In several ways, this was the best event marshalling experience I've ever had. Thanks to Gyrth and Melisande, we had a great concept. Thanks to Keilyn, Corun, Caitlin, Badouin, Lisa and Fritz the tourney was set up wonderfully. Thanks to Dafydd, Galmr, Loric, Malcolm, Gryphon, and Badouin (the marshals of the six lists) and all the other marshals, the tournament went smoothly. We even coped with the last minute loss of our MOL with nary an issue.

I did figure out something that should have been obvious. A two stage combatant filtering design is overly complicated. Which is to say that having both standard lists and counted blow lists is complicated enough. Adding stratification by win totals was excess complication. I'd like to thank Gyrth for letting my try my experiments and letting me change things on the fly.

It's a real pleasure running anything when you're surrounded by event staff that know what they're doing. For the first time ever, I didn't have to marshal a single bout at an event where I was the marshal in charge. I marshalled the last bout, just because I could. :)

Prince Ragnar won the big prize. It was very well deserved. He got a link from the Oldcastle knight chain and gave it to Princess Kyneburgh. I can't wait to see how the ever stylish and talented Kyneburgh will wear the rude little chain link.



hosted by DiaryLand.com